(Movie Review) Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Captain

Captain America: The Winter Soldier stars Chris Evans, Anthony Mackie, Samuel L. Jackson, Scarlett Johansson, Robert Reford and for spoiler purposes I will not divulge who plays the Winter Soldier. But enough talk let’s get down to it.

This movie picks up a little bit after The Avengers, Captain America is settling into his job at S.H.I.E.L.D and we finally get an idea of how he’s fairing in this new world since he being unfrozen. The plot of this movie is simple. Captain America is faced with the task of  standing up against an organization who wants him dead. And I will come right out and say it, this movie is incredible! I adored this film on so many levels. The acting, the stunt work, the writing; everything was so on point in this film. I must say this is the first time I can say Chris Evans nailed being Captain America. As a comic book reader I was skeptical of this movie but once the first few minutes of this baby passed I was so invested into everything that was happening. There’s a lot to say about the direction of this film as well, this did not feel like your typical “Marvel” movie. This film was a stand alone piece of action and espionage executed amazingly by it’s actors.

Captain 2

This movie had integrity. It cared about it’s fans and it made sure to respect the source material as well as making improvements on the weakness in the source material as well. Like I said Chris Evans kills it as Cap and the supporting cast is hands down the best supporting cast of any Marvel movie to date. Anthony Mackie as Falcon is a match made in heaven. His dialogue stayed true to Falcon in the comics and in many scenes Mackie gave the film it’s comic relief as I said earlier, something I really appreciated about his role. Scarlett is sexy, sleek, wise-cracking and pure badass as Black Widow once again and Sam Jackson is FLAWLESS as Nick Fury. The Villains in the movie Robert Redford and The Winter Soldier are really good too. As a matter of fact they were beyond good. The villains were great! The Winter Soldier is the epitome of being one bad mother****** and Redford really sold his role of being a snake in the grass Politician. I know I’ve said it a lot already but the acting in this movie is top notch and something that many hero  flicks cannot say.

I don’t want to spoil anything about the plot of this movie at all but I do want to talk about the mechanics of the movie. The tone of this movie is very serious, but it’s serious in a good way. It’s not trying to be something it’s not. Just exactly what it should be. A spy, action movie. I have never been so proud of Marvel in my entire life. The fight scenes were so greatly choreographed that I promise there are so many moments when you’ll be oo’ing and saying “Damn Cap!” it’s not even funny. Another thing I love about this film is the political commentary it has weaved throughout. How far is too far? Is government all a lie? How much do we really know about the world? Questions that Captain America asks himself a lot. Questions that are answered in the most badass way possible.

CAPTAIN-AMERICA-75

I highly recommend going to see Captain America: The Winter Solider. I will say this loud and proud, Captain America 2 is the BEST Marvel Film I have ever seen. It’s acting, writing, direction, timing and action are unrivaled in the Marvel universe. Please go see this movie.

 

I’m going to award Captain America The Winter Soldier an A+. So what did you think of it? Leave a comment below!

 

 

 

 

 

One response to “(Movie Review) Captain America: The Winter Soldier

  1. You make it sound really good but I’m not much of a Marvel fan, though I did enjoy “Avengers.” Hmm, I might get around to seeing it eventually, I’ll definitely reconsider it.

    Thanks for the review. 🙂

Let Us Know What You Think ;)

